QSL: KGA Spokane WA 1510

kganewlogo

West Coast stations are a rare treat at our Lista QTH. Propagation has to be very good for their signals making it all the way to Southern Norway. Still, we have managed to hear a number of the most common stations through the years. One of the stations heard by us is KGA on 1510 kHz, which was  heard with quite a good signal at times back in October 2008.

My previous attempts to get a QSL from KGA have been unfruitful. I noted some recent replies to other DXers from Jerry Jensen who is their Market Manager and was tempted to get a reply from the station as well. And this time: Success! Mr. Jensen replied promply to my e-mail too and verified my reception of the station. Jerry Jensen tells me that he has Norwegian ancestors, his grandfather came from Tingvoll in Central Norway.

KGA is an all sports station based in Spokane, Washington. The power of their transmitter is 50 kilowatts daytime and 10 kilowatts nighttime.

KGA was only my 4th QSL in 2016 making 2016 an all time low when it comes to QSLs. Certainly, 2017 can’t be worse than that…

Leave a comment