QSL: XEPE Tecate 1700

 

XEPE

XEPE in Tecate just south of the U.S.-Mexican border was one of the best catches on the January 2007 DX-pedition to Lista when the station was heard with good quality for more than an hour. XEPE is a common catch in Arctic Norway, but it is definitely not easily heard here in Southern Norway. Even though this station broadcasts from Mexico, I’ll count this as my first catch of a U.S. West Coast station on the AM band. At the time I received the signal of the station, XEPE broadcast business talk and identified as “Cash 1700”. The station has since changed format to talk radio and is now branding itself as “The Talk of San Diego”.

As this was my first ever reception of a U.S. West Coast station, I was very pleased to receive an e-mail from Bill Lipis in my inbox yesterday confirming my reception of the station.

Leave a Reply

